Preservation Technique: How to Freeze Sugar Snap & Snow Peas

starr-070730-7859I love fresh peas. Right now I have so many peas growing in my garden, but only a few make it back to the house. Why? Because fresh peas are so sweet and tender that I eat them right in the garden. A few that make back to the house, I cook or freeze them. Freezing peas is as easier than freezing broccoli. Here’s what you do:

  1. Select only sweet, tender peas; unstring them.
  2. Blanch in boiling water for 90 seconds.
  3. Cool immediately; drain.
  4. Pack, leaving 1/2 inch of headroom.
  5. Seal; freeze.

Last year I froze a couple of bags of snow peas and sugar snap peas. They came in handy whenever I made Asian stir-fry.

So this weekend, grab some peas at the Certified Arkansas Farmers’ Market and freeze them!

2 responses to “Preservation Technique: How to Freeze Sugar Snap & Snow Peas

  1. can you freeze sugar snap peas without blanching them?

  2. Hi, Marilyn!

    Thanks for reading!

    I wouldn’t recommend freezing them without blanching. Only two vegetables that you can freeze without blanching are tomatoes and peppers. The reason is because the enzymes in the vegetables continue to make them lose flavor and color even at freezer temperatures. Freezing stops the enzymes in their tracks and prevent them from becoming tough.

    If you have any freezing question, I highly recommend a book called “Putting Food By” by Janet Greene, Ruth Hertzberg, and Beatrice Vaughan. It’s my bible when it comes to food preservation. I reviewed the book awhile back. Check it out: https://greenarbytheday.wordpress.com/wp-admin/post.php?action=edit&post=4009.

    Again, thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

