Meet Local Green Peeps!

Me in EurekaChances are, if you are reading this, you support green causes. You go to meetings, you visit local farmers’ markets, and soon you start running into familiar faces. You know their names, but have you ever wondered what they do to be ? Well, Meet Local Green Peeps! hopes to satisfy your curiosity about area green people and what they do to be GreenAR in the Natural State. So, without further ado, let’s get started!

Vital Statistics (Name & Location): Jamie Ewing. Little Rock.

What Do You Do?: Environmental Attorney for the Arkansas Department of Environmental Quality.  I primarily work on water issues.

Steps Taken to be GreenAR: I moved closer to the office, so I have a shorter commute.

Hard-to-Take Steps: I’ve seen websites of amazingly creative people that fill their lives with handmade clothing, home decor, etc., that is made from recycled sources.  I would love to be able to look at something from a thrift store and see an entire new life to it.  So, to start, I’m working on my sewing and knitting skills.

Future Steps to be GreenAR: I want to fill a larger portion of my food “budget” with local sources.  I can do better with more planning.

Favorite AR Produce: GREENS!!

Favorite AR Groups: Arkansas Earth Institute and Central Arkansas Land Trust

Favorite AR Businesses: The Green Corner Store and Beeyoutiful (not AR-based, but my sister-in-law works for natural supplements business, and they are big supporters of sustainable living in neighboring TN)

If You Can Do One Thing to Make the Natural State Even More Natural, What Would You Do? Put in public transportation to the North Shore Office Park (home of ADEQ) and Cook’s Landing

Know a green Arkie? Leave a comment and let me know how I can get in touch with him or her.

Leave a Reply

