Eat Local @ Smiling Jack’s!

Located next to Dickson Street Bookshop, Smiling Jack's serves natural, organic, and local foods.

Located next to Dickson Street Bookshop, Smiling Jack's serves natural, organic, and local foods.

Smiling Jack's serves all kinds of sandwiches, salad, and drinks.

Smiling Jack's serves all kinds of sandwiches, salads, and drinks.

Mixed berry smoothie

Mixed berry smoothie

Secret salad - the best salad I've ever had in the state!

Secret salad - the best salad I've ever had in the state!

Sonoma sandwich, made with proscuitto, mozzarella, tomato, basil, balsamic vinegar and olive oil on ciabatta bread. Came with a slice of pineapple and a pickled okra.

Sonoma sandwich, made with proscuitto, mozzarella, tomato, basil, balsamic vinegar and olive oil on ciabatta bread. Came with a slice of pineapple and a pickled okra.

Smiling Jack's has friendly staff and a relaxed atmoslphere.

Smiling Jack's has friendly staff and a relaxed atmoslphere.

During our recent trip to Fayetteville, Eddy and I ate lunch at Smiling Jack’s. Located on School Avenue, next to the Dickson Street Bookshop, Smiling Jack’s strives to serve only the freshest, all natural, organic, and locally grown foods that taste great and are better for you and the environment. The restantant lives up to its mission. I ordered a 100% all natural smoothie and a Secret salad. The woman at the counter asked what I wanted in my smoothie, I told her I like berries, and voila, I got a semi-tart mixed berry smoothie with no banana. I love bananas, but I hate them in my smoothies. I didn’t even tell her, but she knew. FANTASTIC!

The Secret salad was loaded with fresh greens, carrots, cucumbers, strawberries, two different kinds of sprouts, avocado, tomatoes, and onions, topped with goat cheese. Smiling Jack’s Secret salad is now officially my favorite salad in the state, knocking off Greenhouse Grille’s Greenhouse Salad.

Eddy had a Sonoma sandwich. Made with prosciutto, mozzarella, tomato, basil, balsamic vinegar, and olive oil on ciabatta bread, the sandwich was more than enough to fill him up. It came with a slice of pineapple and a pickled okra. (Okay, okay. Pineapple isn’t local, but it was organic.)

What I love about Smiling Jack’s is that it really buys from local farmers. During our visit, I saw the owner come in with two boxes full of produce that he picked up from a local farmer. Unlike some restaurants, when Smiling Jack’s says it buys local, it really means it.

Next time you are in Fayetteville, stop by Smiling Jack’s for fantastic local salads and sandwiches. For more information about Smiling Jack’s, visit www.smilingjacksfreshfoods.com.s

Leave a Reply

