Mulch Your Garden with Shredded Newspaper!

I mulched my pepper plants with shredded newspaper. So far, they are very happy!

I mulched my pepper plants with shredded newspaper. So far, they are very happy!

I must thank Barbara Kingsolver for this tip.

In Animal, Vegetable, Miracle, Barbara Kingsolver writes about mulching her garden with shredded newspaper. I’ve been following her advice for two years, and my garden is doing great! I get to reuse newspaper, conserve water, have healthy plants, and save money. Avoid using ads because they don’t biodegrade easily. When you’re done gardening, just till under the newspaper.

Save money & water! Mulch your garden with shredded newspaper!

4 responses to “Mulch Your Garden with Shredded Newspaper!

  1. Hey Nao, nice tip. I have plenty of newspapers every week in our office recycling if anyone would like to reuse them.

  2. Interesting tip. I might have to try this one.

  3. Nice blog!!!! Check out this blog also:

    http://helpcooltheearth.wordpress.com

    It is awesome

  4. I love mulching my garden with shredded newspaper. They don’t come with weed seeds.

    I tried to mulch by laying newspaper flat, but they just blew away. When shredded, they stick around until my chickens start taking a dust bath 🙂

    Melanie, I love your blog. Thanks to you, Eddy and I went to Pho Vietnam. FANTASTIC place!!!

    Scikid, I linked your blog to mine. Nice blog!

Leave a Reply

