Preservation Technique: How to Freeze Green Beans

green-beans-1I love green beans. I love them fresh, but when I can’t get them fresh, I love to roast my frozen beans.

Freezing green beans is easy. Here’s what you do:

  1. Cut in 1- or 2-inch pieces, or in lengthwise strips, or leave whole if they’re young and tender.
  2. In soft boiling water, blanch for 3 minutes.
  3. Cool immediately in ice water; drain.
  4. Pack in freezer-type container, leaving 1/2 inch of headroom.
  5. Seal; freeze.

Last year I froze several bags of green beans, and they came in handy during the winter. People looked surprised when I served them roasted green beans with dill vinaigrette in December!

So this weekend, grab some green beans at the Certified Arkansas Farmers’ Market and free them!

6 responses to “Preservation Technique: How to Freeze Green Beans

  1. Pingback: Twitted by eatarkansas

  2. its great friend i m really like this post……

  3. Hello,

    I just found your wonderful green blog when Googling ‘How to Freeze Green Beans’. Your blog is definitely going in my Favorites. Is it possible to get your dill vinaigrette recipe? I love green beans and absolutely love, love, love dill.

    Thank you.

  4. Disregard my previous message. I found the recipe.

    Thanks!

  5. Hi, Lynn!

    Thanks for reading!

    Hope the recipe worked out for you! I really love that recipe. I have another recipe called Cucumber-Dill Salad, which I will post soon. That one is good, too!

    Again, thanks for reading!

  6. An online source for beekeeping products and equipment, designed with the beginning beekeeper in mind run by staff with more than ten years of experience in beekeeping and teaching the hobby to others.
    http://www.goodbeekeeping.com/

Leave a Reply

