Guest Post: Jonelle Doughty – Super Quick and Easy Fridge Pickles

Finished product

Finished product

Look at all the spices!

Look at all the spices!

When planting a vegetable garden, it’s often hard to decide how much is too much. Cucumbers are one of those prolific veggies that are especially difficult to gauge. This year I decided to plant only three cucumber plants, all of the “Bushy” variety. On average, they grow to be 4” to 5” long and 1” to 3” in diameter.

For the last couple of months, I’ve consistently gathered two to four cucumbers a day. But I’ve found I only eat about two cucumbers a day. The rest get thrown into the veggie drawer of the fridge where I tend to forget about them until they start to wrinkle and wither. Oops!!

If you’re like me and have found yourself with a few too many cucumbers to eat in a timely manner, but not quite enough for a full batch of proper pickles, refrigerator pickles may be the solution you’re looking for.

There are a million recipes out there for refrigerator pickles. Some involve bell peppers and onions. Most require quite a bit of sugar. Since I’m not a huge fan of sugary pickles and only had cucumbers to work with, I improvised my own recipe. I must say, I’m quite happy with the finished product.

Super Quick and Easy Fridge Pickles

Add the following four ingredients to a pan on stovetop:

  • 1 ½ cups Bragg’s apple cider vinegar
  • ½ cup water
  • 2 Tbsp honey
  • 1 Tbsp pickling/canning salt

Let simmer until salt and honey are dissolved, then bring to a boil.

To each jar add:

  • 2 cloves of garlic, peeled but whole
  • 1 tsp mustard seed
  • 1 tsp dill seed
  • 1 tsp peppercorns (can be eliminated for no spice, or increased for more spice)
  • 2 cloves

Fill jars with thinly sliced cucumbers (see note), then pour in boiling vinegar mixture. Leave ¼” of headroom in jars. Screw on lid, and let sit out on counter for 24 hours. Refrigerate. Eat.

Note: I used 8 to 10 medium-sized Bushy cucumbers which made exactly two pint jars of pickles.

5 responses to “Guest Post: Jonelle Doughty – Super Quick and Easy Fridge Pickles

  1. Yummy, cucumbers are great for beginner gardeners because they boost your ego with the amount of growth!

  2. A friend sent me this link. Great idea but I had to laugh at it working at our house. Out of three seed packs (and most of the pickling cukes coming from one variety), I’ve been picking between 3 and 7 pounds of cucumbers every other day, averaging over 20 pounds a week. This is a nice, easy recipe, though, if you have smaller yields.

  3. Hi, ozarkhomesteader!

    Thanks for reading!

    Wow, 20 pounds of cukes a week??? That’s a lot of pickling and eating! I think it may be very interesting to see how some of my homesteader friends with larger gardens preserve their food. Interested in a guest post?

    Again, thanks for reading!

    • ozarkhomesteader

      I’d be delighted, but I confess I barely get enough time for the care and feeding of my own little blog–maybe I could guest post during the dark days of winter? Thank you.

  4. Measure twice cut once:The last sentence in my comment above above should have read " . ,

Leave a Reply

