Hang Dry Clothes & Save Money!

My favorite clothes drying rack.

My favorite clothes drying rack.

Everytime I go back to Japan, one of the first things I notice is that almost everyone dries clothes outside. It doesn’t matter if you live in a house or in an apartment in a high rise building. You dry your clothes outside. In fact, when my family moved to the United States, we didn’t know that many communities had a rule against drying clothes outside. So, we did what we normally did in Japan and hung our clothes outside. Our neighbor was quick to point out that it was against the rule. I remember my family being completely taken aback by such an odd rule in the Land of Free.

Nowadays, I live in a house in an eco-friendly neighborhood. I hang dry most of my clothes, rain or shine. I use several drying racks, including a homemade bamboo one, to dry my clothes.  I absolutely love the drying rack pictured above. It can hang little pieces of clothing such as socks and underwear, and it’s mobile. I can move it outside or inside. I love it!

What I love about drying clothes outside is how the clothes smell when I bring them in. I also love how it helps me save money by not using my dryer. Wanna dry clothes outside but don’t like the rough feel of hang-dried clothes? Put them in the dryer for about five minutes, and voilà, they become oh so soft.

So, save money and the environment! Hang dry your clothes!

P.S. Stay tuned for more posts about greening your laundry, including one on how to build a bamboo clothes drying rack!

4 responses to “Hang Dry Clothes & Save Money!

  1. It’s so interesting that drying clothes outside is popular in a tech-loving country like Japan. For those who want an indoor rack, I saw a cool design for one in a recent contest: http://www.core77.com/greenergadgets/ientry.php?projectid=23

  2. Hi, Kirsten!

    Thanks for reading! The reason many Japanese hang dry clothes is because the houses are smaller in Japan. It’s hard enough to have a washer, but to have a dryer on top of that is difficult. Japan is smaller than California, but it has 123 million people. We have to use our space wisely, or else we’ll be running over each other.

    Again, thanks for reading, and thanks for sharing the link!

  3. very good interesting article! there are many additional ways out there and useful sites to help people save money 🙂
    http://doitonabudget.com/start

    saving money is like making money

  4. Along these same lines, I also hang my clothes in the room where we keep the furnace (also the location of the washer / dryer).

    The heat from the furnace dries clothes really fast.

Leave a Reply

