Green Your Travel: Visit Farmers Market!

When I’m on an extended trip, I always stop at a local farmers’ market to stock up on food. How do I find a local farmers’ market? I  log on to, what else, LocalHarvest.org. LocalHarvest is THE website for organic and locally grown food. It maintains a nationwide online directory of small farms, farmers markets, and other local food sources.

LocalHarvest is SUPER easy to use. Here’s what I do. Before or during my trip, I log on to LocalHarvest.org. I enter my city, state and/or zip code, and voilà, I find the area farmers market. I love it!

When I was in DC last Thanksgiving, I visited the Penn Quarter Freshfarm in downtown DC to buy ingredients for several meals. I loved seeing all the local produce and learned A LOT about what grows in the DC area.

So, next time you’re on an extended trip, green your travel by visiting a local farmers market!

Leave a Reply

