Green Your Party: Make Your Own Cheese!

My chèvre made with local raw goat milk.

My chèvre made with local raw goat milk.

What goes well with homemade bread? Homemade chèvre, of course! Two years ago, I started to buy raw goat milk from a lady who raises goats right here in the city. Eddy and I don’t drink goat milk, but boy, we can chow down some feta and chèvre. I’ve been turning goat milk into cheese for the last two years, and it’s been AMAZING. I pay $8 for a gallon of milk and get about 1-1.5 pounds of cheese. Compare that to $4.99 for 4 ounces at Kroger.

Cheesemaking helps me save money and reduce packaging. An added bonues: you get woos and ahhs every time you serve homemade cheese.

So, green your party by serving homemade cheese!

2 responses to “Green Your Party: Make Your Own Cheese!

  1. Looks delicious! How do you make it?

  2. Hi, Kirsten!

    Thanks for reading! Ricki Caroll’s Home Cheese Making is my Bible when it comes to cheesemaking. I reviewed the book about a year ago. Here’s the link to the review: https://greenarbytheday.wordpress.com/2008/11/25/book-review-home-cheese-making/.

    Chèvre is SUPER easy. You heat the milk to 86 degrees F. You put in chèvre culture. Let stand for 12 hours. Drain for several hours. Done.

    I turn goat milk into cheese while goats are lactating and stick them into my freezer. During winter, when goats aren’t lactating, I defrost them one at a time to eat them. By the time we finish eating them, it’s lactating time for goats once again.

    Again, thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

