Green Your Office: Green Your Printing!

Green your office in 2010! For next several Mondays, I’ll share some of the ways Eddy and I have greened our office practices.

First up is how to green your printing. Before you print, ask yourself if you need to print. I keep most of my files electronically, so I rarely print.

When I print, I print on both sides or on paper still blank on one side. Set your printers to print on “draft” so that you can save ink and money.

When buying copy paper, choose 100% post-consumer recycled paper. Did you know that a typical office uses about 350 pounds of wastepaper per employee per year? According to the Natural Resources Defense Council, buying 40 cases of copy paper made of 100% post-consumer recycled stock saves: 24 trees, 7,000 gallons of water, 4,100-kilowatt hours of electricity, and 60 pounds of air pollution. Amazing!

So, do the world a favor this year. Green your printing practices!

One response to “Green Your Office: Green Your Printing!

  1. Great packaging on that recycled paper.
    I do like to be green, but sometimes need some persuading. Looking good helps.

Leave a Reply

