Guest Post: Eddy Moore – Hypermile Your Car!

Did you know that your car often gets 80, 90, or 100 miles per gallon (MPG)? At other times, it gets 2 or 3 MPG, depending on whether you are climbing a hill or coasting with a tailwind. If you drive a Toyota Prius, you see this info on the dashboard, which includes an instantaneous reading of the car’s gas mileage. But otherwise, you have no idea what your gas mileage is from minute to minute.

Enter the ScanGuage, a gadget that plugs into your dashboard and tells you your current gas mileage! (It also allows you to read the diagnosis codes when your “check engine” light comes on). A week ago my ScanGauge arrived in the mail ($159). Since then, I have been coasting, pulsing, and experimenting with how lightly I can use the accelerator to get from Point A to Point B. We’ll see if it pays for itself, but for now it is a good, if geeky video game. Of course, you have to watch the road, not just the gauge.

2 responses to “Guest Post: Eddy Moore – Hypermile Your Car!

  1. Michelle Sestili

    Love the guest post, Eddy! Good advice. I have a path home that is up/downhill and I can coast the whole way – though sometimes I deserve a speeding ticket (downhill) and other times I pray no one is behind me (uphill). But I can go about 4 miles before ever touching the gas pedal!

Leave a Reply

