We All Scream for Ice Cream!

Eddy churns ice cream.

Taking a peak to see if it's ready.

Voilà!

What did you do when you were snowed in? I like to cook when I’m snowed in, so when Eddy told me we have more berries in our deep freeze than we would ever use, I declared, “It’s ice cream time!”

Every harvest season, I freeze tons of Arkansas blueberries and blackberries. I combined them with homegrown eggs and local farm-fresh milk and heavy cream to make mixed berry ice cream.

Several years ago, Eddy’s parents gave us their old hand-crank ice cream maker, so we used it to churn the cream. With all the snow, it took us less than an hour to churn. The result? Mmm, good!

Check out the ice cream recipe as well as some of my favorite recipes in the Recipes section!

One response to “We All Scream for Ice Cream!

  1. Very cool! 😀 I love blackberry ice cream.

    Since you are using homegrown eggs, would you like to enter this post in our Grow Your Own roundup this month? Full Details at

    http://chezannies.blogspot.com/2010/02/announcing-grow-your-own-39.html

Leave a Reply

