Thoughts for Food

One of our girls sitting on an egg.

Some of our girls looking for food in our backyard.

Please do not disturb. I'm laying.

Eddy and I don’t watch TV. We find it to be a waste of time, electricity, and money. Why watch TV when you can spend that time brewing beer and making cheese? Eddy quit watching TV back in 1984. I quit in 2002. Neither of us misses it.

Not watching TV does have a drawback. Some times Eddy and I remain unaware of big news stories, like the one about eggs contaminated with salmonella. We had no clue that millions of eggs were being recalled due to salmonella until a friend told us about it at the end of last month. We listen to radio in the morning, but we must have somehow missed that story.

Eddy and I have been raising chickens and ducks for 2.5 years. Chickens and ducks are easy to take care of and fun to be around. We let our “girls” out of their coop in the morning. They spend all day eating bugs and grass, taking dust bath, and scratching around in the yard. Eddy and I herd them back into their coop at night to protect them from predators.

Not only do our girls provide us with companionship, they give us tasty, nutritious, and disease-free eggs. Eddy and I haven’t had to buy eggs at a grocery store for over two years. Heck, we haven’t bought eggs from anywhere. We get them from our backyard.

From time to time, Eddy and I get an opportunity to eat store eggs. We are always amazed at how bland they taste. We go home, eat our girls’ eggs, and wonder why people put up with store eggs.

And now they come with salmonella? Our girls’ eggs have never made us sick, and I think it has something to do with their being cage-free and free range. We have a small flock that consists of four chickens and one duck, which, I believe, helps deter outbreaks of diseases.

Don’t get me wrong. I am not urging everybody to keep chickens and ducks in their backyard. Keeping chickens and ducks works for Eddy and me, but it may not work for you. If you don’t have time to take good care of them, I advise against getting them.

I am, however, encouraging everyone to take a closer look at their food. Who produces your eggs? How do your farmers treat chickens (and/or ducks)? Do you have an option to buy from responsible local farmers?

We eat several times a day. Why not eat tasty, nutritious, and disease-free food instead of bland food that will make you sick? Give your food some thoughts. Source your food wisely.

3 responses to “Thoughts for Food

  1. I too raise my own fowl and often wonder why it took me so long to do so.Farm fresh eggs are so much better tasting and better for you than anything you will find in the store.Did you know that the senate is trying to pass a bill to make it unlawful to give away,sell in a farmers market or otherwise do anything with produce,eggs,dairy and meat unless its for your own use?Its the Senate bill S510.If it affects you at all,you should check it out.Great post,by the way!

  2. Hi, fallenangel39! Thanks for reading my blog!

    I wonder why it took me so long to have fowls, too! They’re much easier to care for than cats and dogs. I’ve had cats for over 10 years, but I waited until 2.5 years ago to have fowls???

    I think it has to do with perceptions. I had a conversation the other night with someone who thought chickens don’t belong in the city. He said that they smell. I know dogs that smell ten thousand worse than my girls. My girls are pretty much smell-free except when I clean their coop.

    I’ll check out the bill. Who knows? It may do a post on it.

    Thanks again for reading!

  3. Pingback: Egg scare! No worries for Nao who has her own chickens on GreenAR by the Day | Tidbits

Leave a Reply

