Wash Your Clothes with Soap Nuts!

soapnuts-lrgWhen my friend Kali told me about soap nuts, I knew I had to try them. Soap nuts are the dried fruit of the Chinese Soapberry tree. They contain saponin, a natural cleaner. For over 2,500 years, soap nuts have been used for laundering silks and wools, by jewelers for shining gold and silver ornaments, as a hair wash, and as a skin soap. They are 100% biodegradable and hypoallergenic.

Here’s what you do.:

  1. Put a handful of soap nuts in a cotton sack, tie a knot, and drop it in your laundry.
  2. Reuse soap nuts for several wash-loads until they are soft and disintegrating in the sack – about 5 washes.
  3. Throw disintegrated soap nuts in your compost pile.

Easy, huh? I’ve washed several loads since they’ve arrived, and I love them! Since I’m allergic to fragrance, I was worried if the clothes washed with soap nuts will make me break out. Nope, they didn’t.

I purchased my soap nuts from Maggie’s Pure Land. Several retailers sell them, so check around and start washing clothes with soap nuts!

One response to “Wash Your Clothes with Soap Nuts!

  1. Dear Sir,

    Greetings from M.S.S. Asan Exports, India.

    We can supply good quality of Soap Nut Whole or Soap Nut Half Shells in 500 gms x 40
    PP bags in one master carton box packing or 1 Kg x 20 PP bags in one master carton box packing on FCL or LCL basis.

    We can print your company name and logo in the Carton Boxes.

    Also, we can supply printed cotton bags in different sizes.

    Kindly convey us exact quantity, packing details and port of delivery to quote our best CIF Prices.

    Visit our website: http://www.mssasan.com

    Email Id: mssasanexports@mssasan.com

    Expecting your reply.

    Best Regards,

    S.Mahalingam @ Prakash
    August 20/2009

    Our Concern Details :
    ………………..

    M/s. M. S. S. Asan Exports,
    12/1 Melaratha Veethi,
    Nagercoil – 629 001.
    Tamil Nadu, India.

    Phone : 04652 – 225621, 227422
    Fax : 04652 – 224373
    Mobile : 09486356569
    Email: mssasanexports@mssasan.com

Leave a comment